Your first foray into online gaming

Here’s a question… What was your first memories of online gaming? What were your first games?

For me, I started playing DooM and Age of Empires… technically not on the internet, but via a serial cable direct between my old 486 and my dad’s laptop…

I remember in days of 56k modems and shitty freeserve my mate Johnny’s folks at upper school got 128K ISDN or early fibre… was like ‘wow!’ - So many lunchtimes at school were spent going to his and watching MTV (my parents only have 4 channels) and playing Star Wars Dark Forces on BT Wireplay (who the fuck remembers that eh?)

It was fucking terrible but equally fucking amazing. Laggy as hell - but we were in fucking AWE at the fact we were playing other people over the internet… MiNd BlOwN!

So who play what first?

Half Life and Counterstrike back in the Beta 1.4 (back when the M4 had a suppressor) days.

Dial-up 28K modem that I used to muffle with a massive pillow because I could only get a chance to play super late at night. I used to sneak downstairs when I was 14 to play. I learnt to adapt to my ping of 200+ ms to lead my target in CS just to get a shot on target. Used to be in a crowd called AKUK (Ass Kickers UK), but then they all started taking it far too seriously and I returned to Half Life deathmatch rocking the MP5 all the way.

Shortly after Half Life Opposing Force was released, I found a 56K modem in dads office and I thought it was like driving a ferarri in comparison! I think I used that modem for a veeeeeery long time, possibly even into my first dabbling with BF1.

Fun side-note: I stole that copy of Half Life back in 1998, when I was going through a phase of kleptomania. Didn’t even know anything about the game, it was just positioned nicely in the book centre where I stole it and couldn’t help myself. :smiley:

Dial-up 28K UT99 sniping on Deck 16 getting raged at constantly.

Fuck. Trying to steer the Redeemer with lag…